Making our own replacement parts

In light of the fact that zeepro seems to be going bottom up, im starting to look at the prospect of making my own replacement parts.

For those who don’t know i work in manufacturing, specializing in small parts.

I’ve gone ahead and reverse engineered the extrude and all the parts could be made by the company i work for.

I’ll go ahead and see about getting a quote for making replacement extruders. Ill go ahead and make the plans for the extruders available to everybody.

The designs are very simple nothing to fancy really, if you have any manual lathe and mill equipment you could make it yourself almost.

I know not everybody has access to it so i’l see what it would cost to get the extruders made. I’ll look into the heater blocks next.

3 Likes

You rock! I was really hoping someone with the knowledge would step up and do something like this.

Hi Tookys, I’m really interesting in this topics. I asked many times to zeepro to publish all materials as open source in order to help many customers.
for the nozzle do you really be able to create it?

thank you
Roberto

I think so, on the extruders at least we make parts like these all day long.

(The company i work for, typically only do orders for 10,000+ parts but they take smaller orders too)

I asked my sales manager a moment ago, as a completely rough ball park estimate he says it’d be a cost of approx~ $8,000 to produce 1,000 extruders. (after taxes and all that fun stuff)

I’ll post the designs up here when i finalize them,

If there is enough interest, i can go ahead and submit a formal quote to my boss, to see about getting them made.

(that estimate was without assembly, its simple enouh to assemble yourself though)

count on me for this.
maybe we can organize a kickstarter campaign for this :smiley:
thank you !
Roberto

yeah i was thinking about that,

I’ve had bad experience with kickstarter, but it may be the best way for us to get this taken care of.