We Have a Community!

…but it won’t build itself.

Based on “3) Requests for and sharing of new user resources”
This seems to be the right place to get some discussion started about this online community itself, and using this new forum tool to create that sense of community and of supporting each other, which many of us had suggested in the KS comment threads.

I suggest we kick it off with any of – who Zim supporters are, why we are here, what we hope to achieve, and what we have to offer to others. Not to take that as any list of “must answer” questions, but just as a guide to the kinds of information I think may help us open up to one another…

Now I’ll introduce myself in a comment

I’m a senior software engineer, though “between” consulting gigs right now. I also dabble in a lot of hobbies, most of them related to mechanics and toys. The lead for me lately is modifying foam dart blasters – “Nerf Guns” – though we try to stay away from the word “gun.” I see 3D printing as a way to make new parts, certainly replacements and repairs, but also original modifications. Eventually perhaps whole designs. There are already a handful of nerf enthusiasts selling parts made through additive manufacturing, and I’d like to join them. With some ideas of my own.

I don’t presently know how to use even sketch up to make design files. I’m more of a T-square and pencil designer, or simply scrawl comical versions on a whiteboard until I’m pretty sure they would work. Then I make them from scratch, using stuff like my tiny lathe and a scroll saw. I also got pretty interested in a software kickstarter, MakeVR, which was cancelled for revision based on community input.

I also have been hoping for a Zim community to suggest software options and show me how I might help others. I’ve been on the internet since the 80s, when USENET was the main way folks all across the world shared common interests and built communities of mutual support.