Software - Design and Interface

My 10 year old son and I are very excited to receive the Zim. We’re wondering best how to actually print something out and are looking for software suggestions (the more free, the more better) to take us from Idea to visual model to instructions that the Zim can take and create the 3D object. My son and I are fairly proficient with Sketchup at this point. Any Thoughts?

1 Like

I’m actually a total noob at 3D printing, but I’m very proficient with electronics hardware and software design, graphics, audio, video, anything to do with computers… so I plan on mastering this soon! (Once I get some advice from some 3D printing pros) Like you, I’m also very well versed with sketchup down to rendering visually appealing scenes… however I’ve never been confident that sketchup could be a good CAD package for designing anything that needed to be “to scale”. Especially anything small. I’ve designed some larger projects like a complete workbench, but that was fairly large. I guess I’m used to designing things with a grid in mind, or being able to accurately measure things… and that kind of falls apart with 3D and sketchup for me. Maybe I’m doing it wrong, so it would be great to hear from some 3D printer pros that use sketchup and other software. Even if something were to cost $100, I think that’s well within the range of most do-it-yourself’ers but free is obviously best! :smile: