Newbie question

Hi everyone!

I have just received my Zim, finally :slight_smile:

I am a newbie in 3d printing and wonder if fellow user could lend me a helping hand. I have read almost every comments within this forum and notice the following tips:

1. Use blue painter tape instead of the provided glue
  2. Set extruder temp to 190C instead of the default 180C
  3. Probably use a spooler to feed the filament instead of using the inbuilt mechanism (this require printing the holder?)
  4. Others (Dual extruder height adjustment, how to level the printing plate, use a different kind of printing plate, etc)

Honestly I don’t quite understand how to level the plate even after reading the manual. The method suggested there isn’t that precise. How do I know if I could feel a small resistance of the paper against the nozzle yet it should barely scratch the paper!?

Thanks in advance! Good luck 3d printing!

Regards

Hi LMaker, here’s my findings, for what it is worth:

1. Use blue painter tape - Depends. Some models definitely benefit from blue painters tape, and you can often print multiple times without reapplying the tape, plus no cleanup. That being said, I’ve had better luck with glue than tape in some cases. As long as the glue was wet when the first filament went down, it usually adhered better for me. Especially when the item is boxy, thick walls, or long, it tends to peel up on the edges without glue. Getting the bigger sticks of purple from the store, some say the stuff from office supply stores is better than the “school” variety. Some people swear by BuildTak or other specialty surfaces. I haven’t tried these.
  2. Yes, 190C works better for me. You can set the defaults to always use this temperature in the cartridge menus (the left/right menus, not the main screen menu).