Help! I have no idea what I'm doing

Hi there,
I’m clearly pretty late to the Zim party but I picked up one of these printers a few months ago for 20 bucks. It’s been on the backburner mostly between school and other projects so all I’ve managed to do so far is flash Octoprint onto the original board ( the Zim hadn’t been modified at all) and get it linked up to the octoprint server. The other day I went to mess around with it but it seemed like the octoprint server wasn’t working, and I can’t get on to zim.local. I’m wondering if this could be negated if I go down the OctoPi route, or if there is a larger issue with Octoprint.
This is my first 3D printer and I have no experience when it comes to using one of these, but I’m trying to get enough of a grasp so that I can begin modifying it. My plans are to gut the print head in favor of an E3D clone Bowden setup, in order to make room on the head for a laser engraving module. I have no experience with Raspberry Pi but it seems the process is thoroughly detailed here but if anyone has any suggestions on other routes for controllers I’d love to hear them. My later plans for this printer probably belong in another part of this forum but I thought painting a larger picture might lead to better advice on where to go from here.
If anyone knows why all of a sudden I can’t access the octoprint server I’d very much appreciate any help I can get on this!
Thanks in advance,

Diggles

1 Like

Hi and welcome to the forum!